shenzhenintel

everything worth knowing about shenzhen, china

Shenzhen Bay Checkpoint Too Crowded Now

leave a comment »

Though I live and work in Nanshan, Shenzhen, I’ve decided not to use The Shenzhen Bay Checkpoint anymore. Last night, I returned from Hong Kong, and it took me 78 minutes to cross back into Shenzhen. (When it gets too crowded, they usually open the second floor, but last night they didn’t!!)

Shenzhen and Hong Kong friends report similar wait times. Several weeks ago, my friend David waited for 3 hours to get to Hong Kong. (It had been the opening weekend for Inception the movie, and understandably he refused to turn back!)

This followed from yesterday morning as I crossed over to Hong Kong at 7am. The whole ordeal only 19 minutes. Then I was aboard the B3X headed for Tuen Mun then the 961 to Central IFC.

7am!?! Why so early? Because last Sunday I arrived at 9am and had to wait over an hour to cross the border!

(Despite the sleepiness, some mineral water and a walnut roll at Simply Life Bread and Wine set me in good moods again!)

From now on, I’m going to cross the Luo Hu Checkpoint.  Yes they see more volume, but they have more experience dealing with high volumes.

Written by shenzhenintel

August 16, 2010 at 7:09 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

